Foot & hand print alphabet, not quite as easy as a,b,c

I am always looking for fun things to do with Griffin which will encourage his development and painting has become a weekly messy play activity for us.

I saw a fantastic Facebook post where someone had used their child’s foot and hand prints to make pictures of the letters of the alphabet. Brilliant, I thought, this will combine messy play and letters. I swiftly headed to the craft box to get out all of the paints and get started on our very own foot and hand print alphabet.

Things did not immediately go to plan. Have you ever tried to get a 9 month old to hold
their hand in one position for more than a millisecond?

green-hand

The first hour was spent mainly with him covering himself in red paint whilst I desperately tried to get our alphabet started with “A is for Apple”.  The dining room was beginning to look like a crime scene. Finally we got the hang of it (reams of paper and gallons of paint later). Here are a few of our efforts.

hand print applefoot print beefoot print mouseviolin foot print

This was certainly not as easy as ABC but we are getting there. My final intention is to make an alphabet book of the prints that Griffin and I can enjoy when the time comes.

When we have finished our project I will post the alphabet in full.

Leave a comment